Learning communities



Learning and Teaching: in other words, Awarness

James’ Subjects

Liturgy, Latin Language, Monasticism, Personal and Group Awareness are some of the skills I like exploring, learning about and teaching


I live and work at Ealing Abbey in London, UK.

Benedictine Institute/C4L, situated at St Benedict’s Abbey, Ealing, London is where I teach Liturgy and Latin,

Institutum Liturgicum London: Ealing & Farnborough
James is a visiting professor at the Catholic University of Leuven. He teaches Liturgy and Latin at the Institutum Liturgicum in Anglia et Cambria during the months of July and August.

NAOS Institute: Ealing is where I learn from supervision and practice

Private teaching:

I am available for private teaching Syriac, privately arranged
I am available for sessions of Vocational Accompaniment, privately arranged.


I am available for consultancy on Liturgy
Benedictine Institute

I am available for consultancy on Generative Communities


I am supervised in Vocational Accompaniment by ….
I gained a Post-Graduate Certificate in Education at St Mary’s College, Twickenham in 1995
I have been a member of the Higher Education Academy since 2004

The Seven Styles. Visual (spatial):You prefer using pictures, images, and spatial understanding. Aural (auditory-musical): You prefer using sound and music. Verbal (linguistic): You prefer using words, both in speech and writing.

kolb’s experiential learning theory model

Kolb’s learning theory sets out four distinct learning styles (or preferences), which are based on a four-stage learning cycle. (which might also be interpreted as a ‘training cycle’). In this respect Kolb’s model is particularly elegant, since it offers both a way to understand individual people’s different styles, and also an explanation of a cycle of experiential learning that applies to us all.

Kolb includes this ‘cycle of learning’ as a central principle his experiential learning theory, typically expressed as four-stage cycle, in which ‘immediate or concrete experiences’ provide a basis for ‘observations and reflections’. These ‘observations and reflections’ are assimilated and distilled into ‘abstract concepts’ producing new implications for action which can be ‘actively tested’ in turn creating new experiences.

Kolb says that ideally (and by inference not always) this process represents a learning cycle or spiral where the learner ‘touches all the bases’, ie., a cycle of experiencing, reflecting, thinking, and acting. Immediate or concrete experiences lead to observations and reflections. These reflections are then assimilated (absorbed and translated) into abstract concepts with implications for action, which the person can actively test and experiment with, which in turn enable the creation of new experiences.

Kolb’s model therefore works on two levels – a four-stage cycle:

  1. Concrete Experience – (CE)
  2. Reflective Observation – (RO) 
  3. Abstract Conceptualization – (AC)
  4. Active Experimentation – (AE)

© Ealing Abbey, 28 August 2016